PDA

View Full Version : Probably been asked a million times: What to read?

1800GAMBLER
03-30-2004, 11:39 PM
Firstly, i know nothing. Yet i'm in another phase of wanting to learn something totally new to me and see how i take to it. So investments seems next on the list to devote a lot of time to.

I'm going to order, A Random Walk Down Wall Street: The Time-tested Strategy for Successful Investing, there's also A Random Walk Down Wall Street: The Best Investment Advice for the New Century, which one? Also what else should i add to the cart? Any good websites for total beginners?

Investments:

I'll have a student loan ~£10k over 3 years, which i wont need but it seems a good idea to take it and invest that since the interest rate is at most 3% and the loan only becomes payable back after university. Also, i may be able to do the same with student overdrafts? The student loan investment would be handy as just a short term investment, as once the loan is due to be paid it would be nice to be able to fall back/have access to the investment then.

Also, excess income investments i'd like to add to each year and keep for long term just as a peace of mind investment.

So summary, general books i should read? Investments i should check out? Books on those investments?

Thanks to everyone in advanced.

adios
03-31-2004, 02:03 AM
Well I'll chime in with my standard statement that you should have an understanding in how to value an asset like a stock or a bond so I'd recommend Aswath Damodaran's, Investment Valuation, highly. Of course once you understand how a stock is valued you'll realize that they could and do have some very big fluctuations in price.

GeorgeF
03-31-2004, 10:20 AM
At the bottome of the web page is a search feature, search on books.

You might try finding the best library near you and raid their shelves and periodicals room. Root arount the internet for free investment advice.

Zeno
03-31-2004, 12:38 PM