PDA

View Full Version : Fighting through a funk

fastpitch
03-30-2004, 10:44 PM
Hi,
I've been splaying SNGs for just over six months and have done very well at the $5 and $10 levels.
Until recently.
It started just about three weeks ago at Ultimatbet, where I went into a strong funk.
A lot of it was bad cards, then it became a matter of playing too tight and then too loose.
I know confidence and aggressiveness has a lot to do with these things and sometimes you start to lack.
I haven't been making reads well lately and I've been paying the price.
I recently went to Party Poker and have tried the playing tight thing, only to find myself nearly blinded out of many tournaments.
Yes, I'm whining.
I like to win and I hate to lose.
I understand that there are spells when cards run cold or when you seem to always lose your 50/50s (lost JJ all-in late to AQ today when a Q popped up on the river) and I've had KK cracked six of the last seven times I've had them.
I'm not trying to whine here because I know I've won my share.
My question is -- what do you do when you hit a funk to get out of it?
Do you play even tighter?
Do you loosen up?
Do you walk away from the tables for a couple of days?
What's the best way for you?
Thanks,

La Brujita
03-30-2004, 11:08 PM
I don't think you are whining and I think they are good questions. I had two rough weeks in a row and was starting to lose confidence so I just took a week off. It is hard to regain your confidence and I am still questioning how good I am.

What I am trying to do is get back to the basics, bet with a good hand, don't slowplay much or get to cute.

I am just concentrating on playing solid fundamentally sound poker and just worrying about getting my money in with the best of it.

The other thing I am doing is replaying every tournament I play with the PP replayer. It is very helpful.

CrisBrown
03-30-2004, 11:50 PM
Hi fastpitch,