PDA

View Full Version : Bellagio 4-8 7a: Set over Set - Comments?

04-16-2002, 05:47 AM
OK, my third of three hands I'll post from this past Friday at the Bellagio. Probably my 8th time at a card room, my first time playing in Vegas. I'm very new at this, so ALL comments are very appreciated.

It's early in the morning now. Have been playing for over 12 hours now with a couple of hours break in the middle. The table is now young locals, old locals, and two tourists. I'm one of them, and as soon as the other one is done, I know it's time for me to leave! At this point, I'm up about $150 from a $100 start.

I get 10-10 on button. 4 players call. I raise. Blinds call. 2 others stay. 5 players.

Flop: 10d 4h 6h

EP Bet. 2 Call. MP Raise. I call. 2 call. 4 players.

Turn: 2d [10d 4h 6h]

MP bets. I raise. EP calls. MP calls.

River: Js [2d 10d 4h 6h]

EP bets. MP calls. I raise. EP Folds. MP Re-raises. I call, thinking he has JJ now.

Results

I was right. He turns over JJ. I show my hand and he says "Ouch - flopped set. I put you on two pair. That was a bad beat."

The other tourist lost his stack 30 minutes later. I was enjoying the challenging play at this table so much that I stayed for another two hours, enough time to give back the $150 I had won in my previous ten hours. I left at around 9a with what I started the day with, which I was happy with given the rake, competition, and experience I gained. Now, I'm raising my standards, though!

04-16-2002, 06:36 AM
>I get 10-10 on button. 4 players call. I raise. >Blinds call. 2 others stay. 5 players.

>Flop: 10d 4h 6h

>EP Bet. 2 Call. MP Raise. I call. 2 call. 4 >players.

Whoa! I don't get it. You've got to reraise here--for a couple of reasons.

First of all, with five players in you could very easily be looking at a heart draw. Got to charge him as much as possible! Reraise.