PDA

View Full Version : Throw me a friggin bone here

wrongpond
03-30-2004, 12:58 AM
It's a 1-2 no-limit live game. I'm BB, pre-flop there's a late limper and the SB calls I check it (I've got K /images/graemlins/club.gif10 /images/graemlins/club.gif) the flop comes 4 /images/graemlins/heart.gif9 /images/graemlins/club.gif10 /images/graemlins/spade.gif I check it the limper makes it $4 the small blind raises to $8 I know I've got the SB beat so I make it $12 and think that should do it, but the limper comes back over the top with $25 more, I've got no read, and that $25 is the difference right now between leaving a winner and a loser, I fold, he shows me K /images/graemlins/heart.gifQ /images/graemlins/diamond.gif the dealer shows us Q /images/graemlins/club.gif for the turn and 2 /images/graemlins/club.gif for the river. I'm new to the game, especialy no-limit and am certain that my intuition exceeds my knowledge, rip into me plz.

suckafish

jdl22
03-30-2004, 01:38 AM
Welcome to the forums. You'll find a lot of help here 99.99999% of which will come from people other than me. If you read the threads here and post you will see your game dramatically improve but it does take some work and thinking.

To your hand. Preflop check is fine. Flop you have a strong hand with top pair second kicker, however it is very susceptible to draws. Anybody with a jack, queen, or ace could make a better pair on the turn and there could be a lot of straight draws with two consecutive cards there. You can't go for the check-raise here unless you are nearly 100% percent sure he will bet because giving a free card could hurt you so much. I would say put in a pot size bet. When you faced the bet and raise I would have put in a real raise. By real raise I mean pot sized. The min raise isn't going to get rid of anyone and looks a bit weak which is probably why the limper went back over the top.