PDA

View Full Version : Starting out

Megan The Minx
03-28-2004, 10:26 PM
Hello everybody. I am new to poker, I like to watch it on television and now feel ready to have a go at it myself. Can anybody recommend a good place to start?

uuDevil
03-28-2004, 10:56 PM
Megan,

Ok. The standard advice is this:

Sign up at one of the major sites and play for play money and/or microstakes (down to US $.01/.02). Off hand, Ultimate Bet and Paradise Poker come to mind, but do a search for more recommendations. The idea is to get a lot of cheap experience.

Read some books. Assuming you want to play Hold'em, which is by far the most popular game, "Winning Low Limit Holdem" by Lee Jones is good for beginners. After that, "Theory of Poker" and "Holdem Poker for Advanced Players" by David Sklansky will be essential.

The micro-limit and small stakes forums here are good for strategy advice. For help with basic concepts, post here (Beginners). The Zoo (internet forum), which you've already been to, is good for general internet and site questions, but beware, it is a wild place....

Most, though perhaps not all, posters who have been around awhile will give good advice-- you've already met Lorinda. Watch out for SPAM.

If you get into it, there will be much more....

Have fun, take care.

OnlinePokerCoach
03-29-2004, 12:01 AM
Read the right books before you start playing. Online play is a great place to learn because very low stakes are available.

I disagree with the other poster about playing for play money and super-micro stakes. Play for play money only to get used to the software if necessary. Otherwise, since it is for nothing of value, play at such tables will not be anywhere near realistic. The only exception may be play money heads-up, where ego is sometimes at stake and folding your hand will not mean waiting for others to play out; so play can be somewhat realistic depending on your opponent.