PDA

View Full Version : Two pair

04-10-2002, 01:41 PM
$.50/1.

Typical LL Paradise players. Holdem.

Hero dealt QhTh in SB One EP, two MP, SB, and BB all in for one bet.

Flop comes Ts9s9d. SB bets, BB and two MP call.

Turn is 2d. SB bets. BB raises. all fold. Winner BB does not show cards.

Should I have raised on flop with pair on board?

Should I have bet out on turn and then fold after I was raised? Only four outs and no pot odds.....but was I too timid?

I figured I was beat and that it would cost me the turn raise plus river bet.

Newbie here and first post with a question.

Thanks. Been reading your posts and have learned from them.

Don

04-10-2002, 02:09 PM
Here are my answers to your questions:

1. "Should I have raised on the flop with a pair on the board."

You were not able to raise the flop bet because you were in the small blind and bet the flop yourself. Your flop bet is correct in my opinion. It appears that only one player, the early player, folded. You got called in 3 spots. This could mean that someone has a nine and is waiting until the turn to pull the trigger or that your opponents are all drawing and your hand is good. At this point you don't know.

2. "Should I have bet out on the turn and folded after being raised."

Yes. I believe this is exactly what you did. You bet what good still be the best hand. When you get raised after a blank comes on the turn, I would think you were beat if not by trip nines by a bigger ten.

I think you played correctly.

04-10-2002, 02:11 PM
Tough decision for you. I think on the low limits you don't want to give your opponents an opporunity to "bluff" you.

I think your flop bet is the absolute correct decision.

Once everyone calls your flop bet, have to assume there's a 9 out there and want to find out where it is without paying anything. I would check the turn. The reason I check the turn is because I can walk away cheaply, when the BB bets and everyone folds, or if it's two bets cold to me.