PDA

View Full Version : A couple of NL strategy questions

JPMcMoney
03-24-2004, 08:22 PM
Hello all,
A couple of questions for the NL veterans out there. I have been playing NL for the last 3 months and I can honestly say I don't think I will ever go back to limit again.

I keep track of all my stats and I currently play at the lowest NL levels at party poker, pokerstars and the cryptologic sites. My results are positive so far, but small. I am averaging about $4 per hour total, while playing 2 to 3 tables at a time. While I am happy I am making money, I know I am leaving some out there judging by other peoples reported numbers. Here are a couple of specific areas that seem to hurt my bottom line.

1) Betting too much on the flop with a good hand
It seems that when I make a set, top 2 pair or top pair with top kicker and there are draws out there, I generally bet around or above the pot total and 85% of the time everyone folds. While this is a win for me, it seems to be the bulk of my wins and these small pots don't always make up for my draws and big showdowns. I don't want to be giving drawing odds too often, but I also want to give the pot a chance to grow while I feel I am ahead. Any betting advice here?

2)When you are ahead with hands like I illustrated above and the draw that you feared hits on the river and someone bets into or raises you. How often do you pay to see it and how often do you fold? I know this question is too general and depends on bet amounts, pot size and what not, but what I am looking for here is if you have no real read on the opponent and the bet/raise is a significant but not overwhelming % of the pot (35-50%), how often do you call this with your top pair, 2 pair, 3 of a kind? I know if you never call it, people will notice and bluff at you more. But if I always or usually call what I pretty much already know, I know this hurts my bottom line. Anybody follow a guidline here?