PDA

View Full Version : Good Omaha Starting Hands

El Professor
03-22-2004, 10:27 PM
I normally play texas hold-em, but am interested in learning a little omaha, can someone direct me to a site for newbies, including good starting hands? Or, perhaps can someone list a few? What type of hands are you looking to make?

Say I was holding AAAA, would I even play this, knowing it can't improve? With the exception of pulling a miracle nut flush or something, isn't this hand almost crap?

Ray Zee
03-22-2004, 10:50 PM
after asking that question you should stop playing any poker and do some serious reading of poker books. your holdem game cant be a winning one either. sorry but trust me here.

gmunny
03-23-2004, 01:31 AM
Sorry Dude, but you got dogged by the Grand PB himslef! Had to laugh at that one. /images/graemlins/smile.gif Although, I play HE much more than Omaha, I like playing Omaha Hi/Lo. Please take note I am still a beginner, but for this game, I like hands that have the ability to become the nuts and that can scoop or 3/4 the pot. I may be wrong, but I think the best hand is A2 suited and A3 suited. This hand gives you nut lows even if an A, 2 or 3 gets turned up, it gives you two ways to nut flushes and a pair of aces in the hope you can make Aces Full. Also, with the 2 aces in your hand, it reduces the likelyhood of someone else having the nut low (A2), which in turn reduces the likelyhood of a split low pot. If you are talking about Omaha Hi, although I have never played it except in home games, I would want AK suited and AQ suited. Good luck. G$

Zeno
03-23-2004, 03:22 AM
You have to try and be a little more specific. Are you talking straight Omaha high? for limit stakes? or a pot-limt game? or Omaha 8 (a hi-low game) etc.