PDA

View Full Version : NL Bankrolls?

Morbo
03-21-2004, 05:22 PM
What is a reasonale amount of max buyins for your NL bankroll? What would you consider the minimum amount?
Is there any essays or texts on this issue? For example, how you would alter your strategy if you had an insufficient bankroll?
The game itself is $50 NL with .25/.50 blinds. I want to play it regulary but I'm not sure how much money I want to devote while I'm just learning. Thanks.

tdomeski
03-21-2004, 05:58 PM
10 buy-ins is a good start. . So $500 is a good start but I would feel better with around $1000 behind me to handle any extreme days. . .

If I'm playing with an insufficient bankroll I'll generally play the $25 NL to get a sufficient bankroll, but you can always just play one table of $50 NL and try and play your "A" game. . .

CrisBrown
03-22-2004, 12:57 AM
Hi Morbo,

If you're just starting out, I'd actually suggest playing SNGs (sit-and-go tournaments) rather than ring games, for a couple of reasons.

First, a SNG has a built-in stop loss; you can't lose more than the tournament buy-in. Yes, it also has a max profit, but while you're learning the stop loss is probably more important.

Second, each SNG offers wide range of situations: deep stack, short stack, full table, short-handed, very loose tables, very tight tables, etc. This allows you to work on all of the various skills you'll need in ring play, and it forces you to attend and adapt to changing situations.

Cris

scrub
03-22-2004, 07:51 AM