PDA

View Full Version : My No Limit Epiphany (long)

Jon34
03-18-2004, 02:11 AM
WARNING: This is a good chunk of my poker background, which leads up to my latest realization. Might be a good read for new players, I might get a pat on the back from the real players, and from what I've read recently I might be in the same boat as Gomez. Pardon the rambles /images/graemlins/wink.gif

I started playing poker last summer. Before that I never realized how complex a game it was, but as soon as I discovered how incredible it really was, I was hooked. Between a natural affinity for logical and mathmatical reasoning and experience with games that involve similar skills (magic the gathering, bridge), I thought I had a real knack for the game (and still think so).

I started playing online freerolls and latenight heads up against my brother. It took me a couple months to come around to agreeing with many general theory principals, as I didn't really believe it until I experienced it enough. For example, I didn't understand why you should play tight preflop when most any two cards could flop a monster. Eventually I realized the reasons, and poker just kept growing on me. I have been trying to take the fast track to poker success, studying many books, reading these forums, and playing way too much altogether /images/graemlins/smile.gif