PDA

View Full Version : my opponenets and idiot right?

knifeandfork
03-17-2004, 01:48 AM
taj 3-6 10 handed
i see a cheap flop 4 handed with kq from the sb which is
Q 7 3 rainbow i check as do the mp and first lp bets and the other folded to me and figuring this to be a pretty good flop for kq with no pfr i raise mp calls two cold? and lp i assume was trying to pick it up folds? the next card off is a 10 and i bet he calls so i put him on being a calling station..... (im new to the table btw second hand i think) the next card off is a seven(no flush btw) and i check he bets now a better player than me could fold here but i couldnt i called and he showed me k7o for 3 7s and the pot. i dunno that i did anything wrong here but perhaps calling on the end or not going for the checkraise turn but i think both those plays are bad i came to the conclusion that my opp is an idiot. im new to this forum and just finished up playing my first year of poker so im sure this is just another bad beat but any thoughts on what i could have done better keeping in mind im playing 3-6 here where in my experience raising preflop without a group one or two hand seems to just get me tied to the pot and losing bets along the way. i dunno but i love this game:)

Dynasty
03-17-2004, 03:18 AM
With an MP and two LPs in the hand, I'll assume the flop was taken five handed rather than four handed since the Big Blind must have gotten a free look at the flop. That means there were 5 small bets in the pot before the flop.

With KQo after three limpers, the decision whether to raise or limp pre-flop is close enough so that it's not too worthy of discussion. With just two limpers, I definitely think everybody should be raising. With 3+ limpers, calling becomes a more practical option. If your pre-flop play is a mistake, it's only a small one.