PDA

View Full Version : Some interesting ways poker has changed me

fireman664
03-14-2004, 11:40 AM
Has anyone else noticed the way they approach life has changed due to poker? I am a city Firefighter, and last night was standing on the roof of a fully involved double residence. I had myself at a good 8 or 9to1 that the roof would hold.....and it collapsed. My partner and I went on a nifty little ride. Every one was fine, but I still felt like I got rivered. Is it normal to think of everything in terms of poker like this? Is it healthy lol

theBruiser500
03-14-2004, 11:45 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I had myself at a good 8 or 9to1 that the roof would hold

[/ QUOTE ]

I like your play, you just got a bad beat.

Styles
03-14-2004, 11:49 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Has anyone else noticed the way they approach life has changed due to poker? I am a city Firefighter, and last night was standing on the roof of a fully involved double residence. I had myself at a good 8 or 9to1 that the roof would hold.....and it collapsed. My partner and I went on a nifty little ride. Every one was fine, but I still felt like I got rivered. Is it normal to think of everything in terms of poker like this? Is it healthy lol

[/ QUOTE ]

easy fold pre-flop /images/graemlins/grin.gif

glad you're ok

theBruiser500
03-14-2004, 11:59 AM
[ QUOTE ]
easy fold pre-flop

[/ QUOTE ]

I disagree, as he said he was getting pretty good odds. Besides, in addition to the 9 to 1 odds, he had outs. He fell but didn't get hurt.

Styles
03-14-2004, 12:03 PM
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
easy fold pre-flop

[/ QUOTE ]

I disagree, as he said he was getting pretty good odds. Besides, in addition to the 9 to 1 odds, he had outs. He fell but didn't get hurt.

[/ QUOTE ]

I think you have to look at it as a freezeout, thus his effective odds are shot /images/graemlins/wink.gif

he was 9:1 the roof would hold, he didn't say what the "pot" was offering him and if he lost he could die.

"you lose, you're out" TPFAP /images/graemlins/wink.gif

spamuell