PDA

View Full Version : Wimping out or smart fold?

MagicRat
03-12-2004, 03:36 PM
I guess this is why I'm still a beginner (and posting to the Forum)... With the re-raise on the flop I was sure I was facing a flush draw so while I probably should have raised the turn I wimped out (and if I should have, why?). Then with a lead-out bet and overcall I gave up the ghost. So how bad (or not) was my play (and keep it clean!) /images/graemlins/grin.gif

Party Poker 1/2 Hold'em (10 handed)

Preflop: Hero is Button with A/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, A/images/graemlins/spade.gif.
UTG calls, UTG+1 folds, UTG+2 calls, MP1 calls, MP2 calls, MP3 folds, CO calls, Hero raises, SB folds, BB calls, UTG calls, UTG+2 calls, MP1 calls, MP2 calls, CO calls.

Flop: (14.50 SB) 4/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 6/images/graemlins/club.gif, J/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="blue">(7 players)</font>
BB bets, UTG raises, UTG+2 calls, MP1 folds, MP2 folds, CO folds, Hero 3-bets, BB caps, UTG calls, UTG+2 calls, Hero calls.

Turn: (15.25 BB) 2/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="blue">(4 players)</font>
BB bets, UTG calls, UTG+2 folds, Hero calls.

River: (18.25 BB) 2/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="blue">(3 players)</font>
BB bets, UTG calls, Hero folds
Final Pot: 20.25 BB

asdf1234
03-12-2004, 03:42 PM
That's an awful big pot to fold an overpair for one more bet in, especially when you've counterfeited some 2 pairs.

k000k
03-12-2004, 03:51 PM
You got raised once the whole hand, what are you afraid of?? One more BB coulda got you &gt;20, and you had an overpair.. I doubt those other players stayed in for the 2's... Your hand beats 842 out of 990 possible starting hands made of the unknown 45 cards.. I think you were in pretty good shape there..

Just out of curiosity, would you have won the hand?

bwana devil
03-12-2004, 04:00 PM
[ QUOTE ]

Just out of curiosity, would you have won the hand?

[/ QUOTE ]

ill take a guess. J6 or J4 for two pair?

Yeknom58
03-12-2004, 04:00 PM