PDA

View Full Version : How bad does it get?

novamob
03-09-2004, 11:43 AM
I have been playing NL $10/1 single table tournaments at PP for several months now. I have been quite successful, but nothing absurd that I can attribute to good fortune. Usually when I get all in I've got the edge, even if it is only 55-45 in some cases.

The past 40 games I have been in, I have cashed in 10 (not good). I don't think I'm on tilt, but I just seem to be runnning into brick walls. My AJs runs in AQ. When I do get AQs and go against AJ, the flop comes AJ6. When I get JJ I find myself against AA. When I get QQ I get cracked by K8o. I know the odds of flopping a set are about 8:1, but I must have had 50 pp's recently and have yet to ping a set. You get the picture. I am running BAD.

Looking at it with a cool head, I can say I have lost to a 4 outer at least a dozen times in the last 50 games I've played. How long can I run this bad? Any monumetal losing streaks you've had would help me get a reference point on my situation. Thanks.

La Brujita
03-09-2004, 11:58 AM
I have lost 12 straight games and 10 straight games on separate occasions. When you play long enough you can lose many if not most games getting in with the best of it. I had a three month stretch where I had to struggle playing solid poker to keep my head above water.

Even top pros have stretches where they can't make money. That is why you have to take some claims of huge ROIs and profits with a grain of salt.

CrisBrown
03-09-2004, 12:32 PM
Hi La Brujita,

This is so, so true. Swings are inherent in the game, no matter how well or how consistently you play. There is a random element in poker, and there will be times when all of that randomness goes against you. That's why it's so important to have a sufficient bankroll to cover a losing streak. They're inevitable.

Cris

heyrocker
03-09-2004, 01:08 PM