PDA

View Full Version : Help with HEFAP

Pokerho
03-08-2004, 07:57 PM
HEFAP is about my 3rd or 4th poker book. I've been playing pretty seriously for 6-8 months, and naturally I am still learning. Perhaps to think that I am an "advanced player" was a bit of a stretch, but I'm a smart guy, and I'm doing rasonably well at my micro-limit game, so I figured i'd give it a shot.

Unfortunately, I find it very difficult to read. It seems like it's about two-hundred pages of "If you have this, then you should do this, unless you think someone has that, in which case you should do that, however if A is true, then the complete opposite is true, unless B is true in which case you should decide your action based on your read of the other players."

My plan is to play another few thousand hands, and then give it another read, and see if any of it actually sinks in. Also, I get the impression that maybe I should just wait until I work up to higher limits to even think about reading it again.

Any thoughts?

BruceZ
03-08-2004, 08:21 PM
If you are having this problem, then you should definitely study Hold'Em Poker by Sklansky first if you haven't already done so. It covers many of the same topics as HEPFAP in a similar format, but in less depth, and without nearly as many of the exceptions which you mention. HEP is much shorter, but it will still contain plenty for you to learn, and then HEPFAP will be easier to digest once you've mastered the core concepts in HEP. The extra material in HEPFAP really comes into play as you advance to middle limits or face a wider variety of games. In fact, you eventually learn that poker is really all about exceptions rather than rules, except if you play mainly at low limits then that might not be as true. /images/graemlins/laugh.gif

Ray Zee
03-08-2004, 08:35 PM