PDA

View Full Version : What is the next step

coollyc
03-04-2004, 05:16 PM
I have read on at least 3 seperate occasions TOP, HEP, HPFAP, Play poker like the pro's, (Hellmuth) Super systems (hold em & NLH), Inside the poker mind, Psychology of Poker, Tounament Poker for the Adv. player. I am not even close to an expert player, I just like to learn the concepts and see how they apply in real play. Obviously I have benefited greatly from this. However, how do you know when you are truly grasping all the concepts? I am not sure I understand the proper way to study these concepts and know w/out doubt I have learned them. Basically I am looking for a proper studying, and application technique if anyone has one. I constantly re-read parts of each book, whether I think I understand or not. I know % and odds very quickly. I would not consider myself a loosing player, although I have been playing daily for about 4 months 2-3hrs a day (on-line) and have only increased my bank buy $2,000.00. I am looking for a career change! So I am trying to make sure I will be ready when that time comes. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

me454555
03-04-2004, 05:47 PM
Understand the "Why". Once you understand why these plays are made, you truly understand the concept and can apply it a real life game.

Lost Wages
03-04-2004, 07:09 PM
Unfortunately (or perhaps fortunately) you cannot become an expert simply by reading a bunch of books. It also requires a great deal of actual playing experience (years). Study, play, repeat. That is the road to success. Good luck.

Lost Wages

coollyc
03-05-2004, 01:52 AM