PDA

View Full Version : Martha Stewart and Gay Marriages

webiggy
03-03-2004, 04:37 AM
I was having a very interesting argument with my stepfather today re: the Martha Stewart case. Now, personally, I can't stand the bitch and I think she probably has a special place in hell reserved for her in the same wing as George Steinbrenner, Ken Ley, Jeff Skilling, Leona Helmsley and Charles Keating. Having said that, the reasons for her prosecution are little sketchy to me, as proved out by the judge in the case yesterday.

Anyway, being an accountant, I'm very sensitive to insider trading laws (although not as familiar with them as I should be) and really believe that those Gordon Gecko wannabes should go to jail.

So back to the argument. My stepdad says that a client shouldn't be held legally liable for acting on the advice of a stockbroker that is KNOWN to have been based in inside information. It's on this point that I became very vocal in stating that it's this type of activity that spawned the SEC laws of the 1930's and that anyone who knowlingly acts on such information in bad faith is subject to the same scrutiny and legal liability as the person soliciting the trade transaction to begin with. Further, since MS is the CEO of a public company herself, shouldn't she be held to a higher standard? Oh and by the way, since her friend is the chairman of mClone, doesn't that also put her in greater legal peril???

Well to this point, dad makes a stupid analogy on what's happening here in SF re: gay marriages. He then goes on this rant that by my reasoning, Gavin Newsome (SF's mayor), the employees at city hall performing the marriages, and all the gay couples who have exchanged nuptials should all be thrown in jail for breaking state law. BTW, he's very conservative so I think he really believes this.