PDA

View Full Version : Falling right into my weak, loose opponent's trap

Brian
03-02-2004, 10:16 PM
Party 3/6. I am new to the table but have a note on the player in question in this hand as I have played with him before. The note reads:

Any Ace player.
Calls down with any pair.
Very loose.

In other words, your typical Party 3/6 player. He was the Button in this hand. On to the hand.

I am in the CO and dealt A /images/graemlins/spade.gif T /images/graemlins/heart.gif. UTG and MP limp, I limp, and the Button comes along. SB completes and BB checks. 6 to the Flop, 6sb.

Flop: Q /images/graemlins/spade.gif 8 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 8 /images/graemlins/heart.gif

Checked to me and I bet. Button calls, SB calls, everyone else folds. 3 to the Turn, 9sb (4.5bb).

Turn: T /images/graemlins/diamond.gif

Checked to me and I bet. Button and SB call. 3 to the River, 7.5bb.

River: 7 /images/graemlins/heart.gif

Checked to me and I bet. Button raises, SB folds, I call. Results later.

-Brian

Trix
03-02-2004, 10:27 PM
I´m mucking or raising preflop.

There isnt any draws on the board, you get 2 callers on both the flop and turn.
Check behind on the river, you wont be ahead often enough when called.

sthief09
03-02-2004, 10:32 PM
If they are so loose, why are you betting the flop with nothing? It's not like they are going to fold, and there's not much of a reason to think you are ahead.

Brian
03-02-2004, 10:35 PM
Hi stheif09,

Everyone checked to a non pre-Flop raiser and the board is paired. Ace-high is the best hand here often enough to warrant a bet.

-Brian

Brian
03-02-2004, 10:37 PM
Hi Trix,

[ QUOTE ]
I´m mucking or raising preflop.

[/ QUOTE ]

I don't know why you feel this way. I do not believe this is a raise-or-fold situation at all.

[ QUOTE ]
Check behind on the river, you wont be ahead often enough when called.

[/ QUOTE ]