PDA

View Full Version : Newbie, analysis paralysis. When to FINALLY sit down?? Help!

AJPeacock
02-29-2004, 12:48 PM
Howdy all, I searched the forums and couldn't find an answer. Sure hope this is the appropriate forum.

First some background. I've been playing cards my entire life (pinochle, trumps, cribbage, hearts, ...) but only a little poker (just bachelor party games etc.). I've always been an 'analyser' and interested in gaming etc. Over the years, I've read gambling books by Scarne etc.

I have a degree in applied mathematics, so pot odds, implied odds and probabilities are not foreign to me. Lately, I've become interested in Hold'em. I've read several of the typical Hold'em books cover to cover ("Poker Wisdom" by Brunson, "Winning Low Limit Hold'em" by Lee Jones, "The Complete book of Hold'em Poker" by Gary Carson, "The Theory of Poker" by Sklansky etc etc). I've been playing Turbo Texas Hold'em for the last few weeks and have been beating all the loose lineups.

A friend of mine is an avid Craps player (I've often told him the game is angled against him). He keeps telling me that I have Analysis Paralysis and should just buy some chips and 'have a seat'.

So, finally the question. What else shoud I do prior to sitting down the first time? I intend on playing low-limit for a while $3-$6 to see how it goes. Although I don't have the bankroll that I've heard recommended (300xBB's), I have enough to test the waters. There is a local cardroom that plays low limit, so I can find a game just about anytime.

Should I try online poker first? Or are those games so different from the 'real' low-limit games, that I won't be learning much?

My goal is to be successful at low-mid limit games. And sometime in the future try some low buyin tournaments.

Any and all advice is appreciated. Poke some fun at me too, I always enjoy that /images/graemlins/wink.gif

Thanks,
AJ

spamuell
02-29-2004, 01:00 PM