PDA

View Full Version : Adjustments from Party SNGs to Stars

Tosh
02-27-2004, 07:08 AM
Found it a lot tougher since I started playing some stars SNGs, especially the 2 table ones. Just wondering what adjustments people make to take account for the differences between Party.

MVicuna
02-27-2004, 06:51 PM
You didnt mention what levels we are talking about or your style. Party, when I played the SnG, was almost always filled with fish who knew nothing about NLHE and rewarded the loose lucky players. I played a $10 SnG at party to pass the time once after playing on Stars, and it was stupid. People going all in with JJ on the 3rd hand and being called by k9o. You just dont see that on Stars, except in the $3 rebuy tournaments or I've been lucky and missed it.

So the transition I would suggest is start taking your oppenents seriously on Stars and you'll do better.

MarkV.

Prickly Pete
02-27-2004, 06:59 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Party, when I played the SnG, was almost always filled with fish who knew nothing about NLHE and rewarded the loose lucky players

[/ QUOTE ]

Yeah, I'd much rather play with 9 other guys that knew what they were doing. I'd do much better then.

Tosh
02-27-2004, 07:13 PM
People going all-in with K9o is a bad thing now ?

I have won 4 of these 2 table tournaments today and started to adjust a bit now though. Many of the players at Stars seem to be poor still but in different ways. Like the 2 table format but they do take a while.

DonWaade
02-27-2004, 08:38 PM
I guess that I am in the minority b/c I have found the Stars SnG to be the easiest of the three that I play: Party, Stars, and UB. Maybe my observation is not valid because I do not typically play SnG and just got lucky the few times that I have played. I typically have to play tighter on UB than any of the other 2 and Stars I can play a little looser (not that that is a good thing)

Tosh
02-28-2004, 10:05 PM
God what a stupid post that was. I love stars SNGs. /images/graemlins/cool.gif