PDA

View Full Version : Good holdem poker books?

k000k
02-19-2004, 03:26 PM
I'm a novice, I basically break even playing .5/1 on partypoker and pacific (after about 2000 hands). I want to keep playing .5/1 until I can measurably determine that I'm consistantly winning, then I will slowly move up limits..

I bought ITH by Hilger, and am over 1/2 thru it.. It's teaching me a great deal of things that make a lot of sense but never occurred to me. Do all the poker books have basically the same info in them? What would be a good complement to ITH, or what else would you experts recommend?

scotnt73
02-19-2004, 03:32 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'm a novice, I basically break even playing .5/1 on partypoker and pacific (after about 2000 hands). I want to keep playing .5/1 until I can measurably determine that I'm consistantly winning, then I will slowly move up limits..

I bought ITH by Hilger, and am over 1/2 thru it.. It's teaching me a great deal of things that make a lot of sense but never occurred to me. Do all the poker books have basically the same info in them? What would be a good complement to ITH, or what else would you experts recommend?

[/ QUOTE ]

no, all books are not created equal. for a novice here are the first 3 books you should get
1)winning low limit holdem
2)winning poker for advanced players
3)theory of poker

if you STUDY these 3 books over and over while getting a little experience at the micro limits you will crush low-mid limit holdem games.

Al Mirpuri
02-20-2004, 12:00 PM
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

no, all books are not created equal. for a novice here are the first 3 books you should get
1)winning low limit holdem
2)winning poker for advanced players
3)theory of poker

if you STUDY these 3 books over and over while getting a little experience at the micro limits you will crush low-mid limit holdem games.

[/ QUOTE ]

Winning Low Limit Hold'em (WLLH) by Lee Jones
Hold'em Poker For Advanced Players (HPFAP) by David Sklansky and Mason Malmuth