PDA

View Full Version : 5/10 UB, did I screw this up?

ThinkBlue
02-19-2004, 01:22 PM
5/10 UB, I'm fairly new to the table, so no reads.

I pick up K /images/graemlins/spade.gif A /images/graemlins/heart.gif in Second Position. UTG folds, I raise, player to my left 3-bets, Folded to the BB whom calls, I call. Three to the flop.

Flop: K /images/graemlins/heart.gif 6 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 8 /images/graemlins/spade.gif
BB Checks, I bet, Both Call.

Turn makes it: K /images/graemlins/heart.gif 6 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 8 /images/graemlins/spade.gif A /images/graemlins/club.gif
BB Checks, I Bet, Raise to my left, BB Folds, I 3-bet, and it's Capped. I call, Heads up to the River

River: K /images/graemlins/heart.gif 6 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 8 /images/graemlins/spade.gif A /images/graemlins/club.gif K /images/graemlins/diamond.gif
I Bet, Raised, I call.. knowing exactly what's going to be shown to me. Guy to my left turns over the expected A /images/graemlins/diamond.gif A /images/graemlins/spade.gif

Anyways, this one stung. Couple Questions:

1) Should I cap it Preflop in this spot?

2) Does anyone Check/Call the river here?

3) If the River is a rag, does anyone consider Check/Folding the river, due to putting the other guy on a Set?

Sqred
02-19-2004, 03:16 PM
I play those six hande tables on Party (5/10) once in a while and it is important to remember that that game attracts a wide variety of player types. Action junkies, smaller limit players taking a shot, ring game players looking to get some short handed experience, as well as really strong short handed players. It is really important to try to classify opponents as quickly as possible.

As far as the play of your hand goes you should have four bet it. There is no reason not to and a lot of good things that can happen if you do and you both miss while holding AK.

I like a checkraise on the flop either way because it will help define where you stand better. Namely do you get three bet.