PDA

View Full Version : Bad Night at foxwoods 5-10

Klepto488
02-19-2004, 12:33 AM
It started off good, AA on the first hand and then a set on the flop, a nice check raise ensured two callers on the river but it was all down hill from there. Im a college student who plays poker for income, but after that hand I suffered a bad beat that drained the 200 I brought to play
I had 5 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif5 /images/graemlins/club.gif in the pocket in middle position. I call about 5 people in the hand. Flop comes out q /images/graemlins/spade.gif, 5 /images/graemlins/heart.gif, 8 /images/graemlins/spade.gif, i bet and get raised, I make it three and he caps. Four /images/graemlins/club.gif falls on turn then the river pairs 8 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif. He bets on turn and I raise and he calls. The river he bets and I raise again, after this raise I realize that this guy was gonna flip two bitches(queens) and that exactly what he did. Hands like these is what has paid for my spring break and bought my girlfirend gifts. Did I play it wrong?, Was i wrong to assume that he didnt have queens, should i have folded? or just called to whole way, I didnt go on tilt after but i failed to regain any momentum? any tips on the hand or what you should do after a bad beat and you dont have much money left?

BottlesOf
02-19-2004, 12:41 AM
Take a break if you feel like you're going to tilt. This past weekend, I played 16 hours of FW 5/10 Kill. I lost $350. I was better than nearly all the players I played against. It happens. I had some bad beats that I won't bore you with. I also misplayed some hands. On my last hand I tilted and got luck, but I realize I was on tilt and made that my last hand. Disicpline is a critical aspect of being a winning player.

Also, $200 is a little short for the 5/10 kill. Maybe give the 4/8 a shot?

bicyclekick
02-19-2004, 12:46 AM
[ QUOTE ]