PDA

View Full Version : CrisBrown and others, what is your SNG strategy (newbie)?

fishhead
02-18-2004, 01:27 PM
Hey Cris, I'm interested in hearing your general take on NL SNG strategy (for home tourneys with $40-50 buyins). I know that the forum has covered situations extensively, but it would be helpful to have a general guide to follow at the various levels.

Tourney info:
- Players range between ultra tight to ultra loose with at least three seasoned players. The rest are fairly inexperienced.
- Table usually has 8-9 players
- We start with T100 with blinds starting at 2/4 and doubling every 15 minutes. (Any thoughts on improving this structure??)

Sorry for the general question, but I'm a newbie and could use some reference points. Thanks!

Fish

William
02-18-2004, 01:30 PM
LOL You got the nick right pal. /images/graemlins/grin.gif

CrisBrown
02-18-2004, 02:06 PM
Hiya fishhead,

Thanks for the implied compliment, though I'm sure there are others far more qualified to answer your questions than I am. However, I'll take a shot....

First, the blind structure -- only 25xBB to start -- forces the play to move pretty quickly. By way of comparision, at a PokerStars SNG you would start with 75xBB (T1500, blinds start at 10/20). Your structure is closer to that found at PartyPoker, so the PartyPoker players would be better able to answer structure-related questions.

You don't list the payout, and that's important in terms of strategy. If it's winner-take-all, you should (in general) play it exactly as you would a ring game, playing any +EV situation. The exception is that you want a bigger edge in survival situations, i.e.: all-in and covered.