PDA

View Full Version : Overconfidence

byronkincaid
02-17-2004, 05:25 PM
Hi All,

This is my first post, I'm poking my head up out of Lurkdom because I've got some spare time now having just come in last place in the 2+2 SNG.

This is just the latest in a run of bad results so please bear with me while I talk myself through it.

I started playing poker online in June last year. Hey if Chris Moneymaker can win that cash why couldn't I. I bought Poker for Dummies opened it up at the starting hands page and off I went. And I pretty much started winning from the off, not much, tiny amounts for the hours that I play but hey I'm a winning player man cool.

And then I found SnGs, how much fun are these. They made ring games feel so boring and from then on I was pretty much only playing them. But what to play? Limit, NL, PL I tried them all at party and finally decided to play only 30+3 PL HE. I logged my first hundred up about $500 again peanuts for the hours put in but a winning player nontheless.

But I found I was playing the same people all the time and I thought I might find more fish at the NL tables so I started playing there and won a bit but not a huge amount of money. All the time I have been lurking here and reading the usual books, so when I read about the Europe 2+2 SnGs I thought it would be a chance to see how good I am. Average placings on the first 3 with at least 2 bad beats to put me out IMHO! So I reread TPFAP and something in that mixed with some of the stuff I've read here mixed with having my first child last week and I was flying. I cashed out of party and put $100 on stars. Played some different levels and decided to log 100 20+2 1 table tourneys. New born daughter gave me lots of time to play at night with her on my lap and could life be any better? I doubt it.