PDA

View Full Version : First Tourney Jitters

Griswald79
02-12-2004, 12:57 AM
I have been playing for a couple of months now and I just finished my first Touney. I was doing fine, but then i hit a pot hole. I was in early position and holding /images/graemlins/spade.gifA /images/graemlins/spade.gifQ. I called and everybody else folded but one limper (SB) Flop was /images/graemlins/diamond.gifJ /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 10 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif K. The next two cards are blanks...they were not /images/graemlins/spade.gif....and prob doesnt matter anyways. I kept betting into the guy (who i figured was a so so player). He just kept on calling until the showdown. We flipped em and he had a ROYAL FLUSH. Beginners bad luck i guess. He was obviously drawing me in, and i didnt realize it. I was compelled to bet because he was calling me and not raising me. Could you guys give me some advise on how to improve my game.

Thanks in advance

Stu Pidasso
02-12-2004, 02:44 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Could you guys give me some advise on how to improve my game.

[/ QUOTE ]

Don't bet into Royal Flushes.

Stu

<font color="white"> Sorry about being a smart ass, i could not resist. </font>

krazyace5
02-12-2004, 05:05 AM
I don't think you could get away from this one, I would be afraid of a flush but if he was just calling I would probably think I was safe. Of course he wasn't afraid of the possible flush either so he either has it or is on a drawing hand. You could have just tried to check it down but then he probably woulda got aggressive.
I don't know, I think this was just one of those hands.

To improve your game, read books and these forums, post hands to get feedback on how you played them(not just bad beats or losing hands, but even hands where you win so you can get feedback on betting, raising, etc)
Take notes and keep stats(check out pokertracker for this, highly recommended)

By the way I am fairly new at this so take my opinions with a grain of salt.

Good Luck

rayrns