PDA

View Full Version : Beginner player seeking advice

vegrevillain
02-12-2004, 12:31 AM
I've been playing 3/6 and 4/8, Half Hold em/Half Omaha for about 6 months now and always at local poker rooms. I've also been studying Hold 'Em Poker for Advanced Players. I by no means have a full understanding of the book, but I think I comprehend parts of it and I definitely feel that it's helped me improve my knowledge about the game. My goal is to adopt a tight and aggressive style as suggested by the book. And so far in my miniscule career i've been breaking even, having small rushes and small dives.

My question is are these low limit/passive loose games a good place to learn and become a better card player? Or should I be seeking out a different environment to hone my skills? Honestly I am not sure if i'm really improving or not, considering my money is pretty much always at the same level.

I realize that I've barely logged in any time at all at the tables and experience is probably the best tool to improving, but I am having a blast playing- although I hate omaha-and this is something that I'd really like to get better at. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

This is my first post, I hope this isn't out of context for this forum.

TxSteve
02-12-2004, 12:35 AM
I'll jump in and try to say it first...

get Winning Low Limit Hold Em by Lee Jones

Great book for everyone...but especially people who are somewhat new to the game...

and yes...nearly everyone will tell you that the loose, low limit games absolutely CAN be beaten...easier than the higher limit games...you just have to expect larger swings in your bankroll

Stu Pidasso
02-12-2004, 01:49 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I am having a blast playing- although I hate omaha-and this is something that I'd really like to get better at. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

[/ QUOTE ]

High-Low Split Poker by Ray Zee. It Two Books In One!

[ QUOTE ]