PDA

View Full Version : My name is cmfcpa......and I'm a fish

cmfcpa
02-10-2004, 10:00 AM
My Story:

Always been interested in card games (rook, rummy) however until recently I've only played poker a few times with friends, but so many wildcards, everything was just luck..could not stand it.

Always watched the WSOP on TV and loved it, then started watching WPT.....the rest is history.

Joined PartyP last June with $100(yes I'm a big spender) made $20-$30 in a week thought I was smart. Went up to $3/$6 game got smashed to $13 and deleted the icon off my desktop....ego put in check.

Came across Katy Lederer's book(Howard's sister). Rekindled my interest. I then read "Fifth Street" and "Poker Nation". I did not realize how much work went into playing or how anaylitical it poker was. Being a CPA, I decided this might be for me.

I bought Ken Warren's Texas Holdem book. I've read some discouraging things about this book in these forums. However, for a guy who in mid-January had never heard of "Pot-Odds" and did not know what the name 5th street meant the book was just fine.

Anyway I took my $13 left from Party and with my knowledge gained about starting hands I worked it up to $100. I told myself when I got to $100 I could start playing $1/$2 and playing two games at once. I'm sure I've got ADD. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

I've bought some more books; Low-Limit (Lee Jones?), TOP, Super-System. I downloaded "Poker Tracker and have about 1200 ring hands and 23 $10 and $20 tournaments.

I've learned the starting cards pretty well. I'm just learning about the value of suited connectors. Though my Poker Tracker sample is small I was down (outside the blinds) $30 playing AXo......at least I'm learning.