PDA

View Full Version : why am i a loser?

taketwoagain
02-09-2004, 09:47 PM
Hi. This is my first post but have enjoyed the forum for a few months. I've been playing for about six months now. I've read many books and played several thousand hands but I continue to lose to what I feel are weaker hands. I stick to top-ten hands, good suited connectors, etc etc but keep losing. Can it be that I just don't have "poker sense"? It seems when I'm not in a hand someone wins with a medium pair but when I have a good hand someone always has a monster. I'm just extremely frustrated losing to the guy that plays his 3/7 and always makes his straight or the guy that always completes his hand on the river. Am I expecting too much at this point? If following the advice in the books can't help me win what will? I love the game but can't seem to get on a positive track. Any advice? Thanks

Jim Easton
02-09-2004, 10:26 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I stick to top-ten hands,

[/ QUOTE ]

Get rid of Hellmuth's book, get Sklansky's Hold'em Poker. Start posting hands.

webiggy
02-09-2004, 10:55 PM
Ditto

Lee Jones' book "Winning Low Limit Hold'em" is also good, but 2+2 is releasing a new LLHE book that should be great.

1. Get poker tracker and review your hands daily. Try to find obvious leaks in your game and avoid losing starting hands.

2. Give Hellmuth's book to your opponents and tell them that it's made all the difference in your game, then take advantage of his poor tactical advice.

3. Understand that HE is a positional game. Memorize what hands can be played in each position and under what game conditions. S&M and Jones both do a great job on this.

4. Give Hellmuth's book to your opponents..,

5. Be honest with us and yourself and be willing to take criticism.

6. Remember that folding hands can make you money.

7. Don't play with more than you can afford to lose.

8. Have fun!

good luck,

Iggy

bdk3clash
02-09-2004, 11:00 PM