PDA

View Full Version : Dumb question time..........

MrPack
02-09-2004, 02:34 PM
I'm a newbie to your board, been lurking for about 2-3weeks now at the suggestion of Dynasty from another type of message board, so if this is a dumb question, I'm sure I'll get hammered for it, but here goes......

I seem to do OK for the most part and have moved up to the 3/6 tables at PP, but I know I play wrong a lot of the time, especially in tourneys. My question is, is it the right thing to do playing A-x suited absolutely every time pre-flop, no matter how many bets? I do that, and it seems to work out OK, but lately not as profitable as it used to be.
Also, I routinely muck A(9-2)os nearly every time I get it, unless I'm in late position with only 2-3 limpers, but any raisers and I muck. Same goes for any connectors either suited or not 89 or lower. Same with 10-Jos I muck it every time unless suited. I also cold call a lot........

Let me have it /images/graemlins/confused.gif

Thanks in advance

fluff
02-09-2004, 02:54 PM
"My question is, is it the right thing to do playing A-x suited absolutely every time pre-flop, no matter how many bets?"

No, you ideally want to see the flop as cheap as possible, with as many callers as possible. For this to be true, you either are in late position where you can verify this is true (ie. lots of limpers, no raisers already in the pot), or be in a loose-passive game.

"Also, I routinely muck A(9-2)os nearly every time I get it, unless I'm in late position with only 2-3 limpers, but any raisers and I muck."

You can improve this by mucking Axo everytime, unless you're completing BB (edit: should've read SB, obviously) or defending a steal.

Lost Wages
02-09-2004, 02:57 PM
If you are playing 3/6 and have not read "Holdem Poker for Advanced Players" (HEPFAP) then you are throwing your money away. Stop playing and start reading.