PDA

View Full Version : Pot Odds after the flop

jaundice
02-08-2004, 12:13 PM
I'm pretty new to hold'em and I'm trying to learn to play better for local high school home games. I just read the Lee Jones book, and I'm having a little trouble implementing the idea of pot odds. For example, say I have 4 to a flush or open ended straight after the flop. There are 9 cards that can give me the flush, or 6 that can give me the straight, about 17/47 odds. A couple of questions:

1) How do you determine the odds for two cards? I should have learned it in math, but oh well.
2) Do you bet the hand before the turn as if the odds were for both of the cards, or as if you were taking the odds one card at a time?

If there are any errors with my slang or ideas, please correct them. Thanks!

Nottom
02-08-2004, 02:31 PM
OK, first if you have a flush draw + a straight draw you have 15 outs not 17, which means 15 out of the remaining 47 cards will make your hand and 32 that don't.

To express this as odds you should say your odds are 32:15 against or can reduce it to 2.13:1. This is the number you need to compare to the pot in order to see the next card.

OK now back to your questions.
1) The easiest way to figure your odds for 2 cards is to figure the odds of missing twice then subtract that from 1.

For example, you have a 4 flush so you have 9 outs. this means you have 9/47 of catching on the the turn and if you miss there have 9/46 to catch on the river. To get the odds of catching you should first figure the odds of missing.

38/47*37/46= 0.65, so the chance of catching are 0.65:(1-0.65) or 0.65:0.35 or about 1.86:1