PDA

View Full Version : Help please! Don't Want to Chase, But? AJ in multiway pot

RickA
02-06-2004, 03:05 AM
I have been having a lot of trouble making tough folds. I am down about 250 BB in the last 3 weeks and it can't be all cold cards.

GC .5/1 Loose/ typical table for .5/1. I just started playing 2 tables so I don't have great reads on the players.
I'm dealt AJo in MP2
UTG limps, MP1 limps, I raise, LP1 cold calls, folded to SB who 3 bets, everyone calls. 5 to see the flop
Flop Jc 2d 5c
SB ch, utg bets, MP1 calls, I raise, LP1 folds, sb raises everyone calls.
12bb
TUrn Qs checked to me, I bet, everyone calls,
16 bb
River 2h (Jc 2d 5c Qs)

Now, I know majorkong suggeted not posting the results but I don't want to become weak because I am down so much lately. All I'll say is after viewing the hand history I was not behind before the flop
Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks
RIckA

Gravy (Gravy Smoothie)
02-06-2004, 03:10 AM
Value bet the river.

Trix
02-06-2004, 03:12 AM
I wouldnt raise preflop after 2 limpers in the games I play in. Either limp or fold.
What was the river action ?

RickA
02-06-2004, 03:27 AM
Sorry I erroneously hit post before i edited. The river was checked through.
The reason I raised was to try to take control of the pot. It was a passive table and I figured if any broadway(I think this is the right term for face cards?) cards hit I could push some people off the pot. i didn't respect the re raise at all which turned out to be a good read on my part.

RIckA

Ed Miller
02-06-2004, 08:22 AM
Ok... let's look at this hand logically.

Two limps to you, so you raise. Good. Dude calls and SB 3-bets and everyone calls. Fine. You don't like your hand against an SB 3-bet, but what can you do now?

So the pot is big. You flop top pair of jacks on a nothing board. Remember, the pot is big. You are COMMITTED to this hand. Even if you are "chasing," the pot is big and you likely have five outs.