PDA

View Full Version : Help taking first more often

DOTTT
02-04-2004, 03:08 PM
Hello everyone,
I was looking at my last 200 sngs and realized that I've been having a real hard time taking first when it gets down to heads up play. Heads up has always been my weakness, but I’ve never had results like these before. Here are my stats:

First- 22 times
Second- 49 times

In 60% (42) of these games I was in the chip lead or just even with my opponent. I took first only 12 times. In about 30% (21) of them I had a chip lead of 2 to 1 or more and blew it almost half the time. Does anyone have any advice on playing heads up? I usually play aggressive, but how aggressive should I be with hands like Ax, KT, QT, KQ, JQ? I usually raise 3 times the blind with them, but should I just push all in with most of them?
Also what hands should I be calling a short stacks all in, supposing blinds are at 200/400 and they’re down to 2500 in chips.

Kurn, son of Mogh
02-04-2004, 03:21 PM
I'm no HU expert, but I've been having a bit more success lately. I focus on 3 things:

1) be aggressive
2) randomize my play
3) pay attention to my opponent. Be alert for something that doesn't make sense.

Bozeman
02-04-2004, 03:40 PM
What level? What site?

What sorts of mistakes are your opps likely to make?

How many 3rd's have you gotten? 4th's?

It looks like, unless the blinds are small, you could do better by pushing in every hand.

Craig

DOTTT
02-04-2004, 04:59 PM
Well here’s a complete break down of the 200 sngs I was talking about:
107 $50 Party sngs (First 13, second 32, third 6)
32 $100 Party sngs (First 5, second 7, third 9)
The rest are divided into $30, and $50 single table and two table sngs at P*.
14 $30 sngs (First 1, second 3, third 4)
29 2 table $30 sngs (First 1, second 4, third 2, fourth 5)
15 $50 sng (First 2, second 2, third 0)
3 2 table $50 sng (First 0, second 1, third 0)