PDA

View Full Version : 2 hands from Pacific .25/.50

Ric
01-30-2004, 06:37 PM
I just finished a very good session, finally regained my intial bonus money /images/graemlins/tongue.gif. Here's 2 hands I'd like you all to critique. I'm not experienced at all on heads up, so I don't have much idea where I'm at on the first hand. In retrospect, I should have played hand 2 more aggressively, he would have called.

Hand 1: Dealt K /images/graemlins/spade.gif Q /images/graemlins/spade.gif UTG +1 (8 handed)
UTG folds, I raise, CO calls, rest fold
Flop: 8 /images/graemlins/club.gif T /images/graemlins/club.gif T /images/graemlins/spade.gif
I check, CO bets, I raise, CO calls
Turn: J /images/graemlins/heart.gif
I bet, CO calls
River: A /images/graemlins/heart.gif
I bet, CO folds

Should I have checked the river here to try and get another BB out of him? I'm not very experienced heads up so I just kept on firing away. I'm not sure if I outdrew him, or he was on a club draw and it never hit.

Hand 2: Dealt Q /images/graemlins/club.gif T /images/graemlins/diamond.gif in SB
2 limp, I complete, BB checks
Flop: 9 /images/graemlins/spade.gif T /images/graemlins/club.gif J /images/graemlins/heart.gif
I bet, BB calls, limper 1 raises, limper 2 calls, I call, BB calls
Turn: K /images/graemlins/spade.gif
I bet, BB folds, limper 1 raises, limper 2 folds, I call
River: 7 /images/graemlins/heart.gif (At this point I figure him for a Q as well, so I won't bother to raise any)
I check, limper 1 bets, I call

Results: <font color="white">He had 87o, MHIG. Is my attitude towards a possible chop too passive? Should I continue raising, even if I think we will split the pot? I guess a hand like this shows that I should.</font>

Thanks for any advice.

fluff
01-30-2004, 07:58 PM
Hand 1:

Since he became passive since your flop raise, I think it is unlikely that he will bet behind you if you check the river. In my opinion the correct move here would be just to bet out.