PDA

View Full Version : AA again, or training the table - long

11-12-2001, 05:08 AM
Okay, I took a stance in an AA thread a week or so ago about the value of AA in a loose low limit game stating that it was not imo, a great hand to be dealt. I supported this supposition with the idea that other hands pay off better judging from my own experience with AA.

Since then I played AA real time in TTH and also in two live sessions. I decided to play AA -> ATs with appropriate aggressiveness to the river in most situations unless it was clear to me that my hand was a hands down dog. I can only speak to AA, I need to do some tuning with the AJ - ATs as I tend to overplay them. Not taking off the blinders, but simply betting and calling to the flop, AA lived up to my expectations. AA was averaging $.88 each time I played it. For a second and third run in TTH, I started playing very aggresssively with AA, betting and raising as much as possible unless it was very clear I was beaten. My average AA profit soared to over $11.00 each time I played it! Okay, time for the real world.

Two sessions later, and the results are rather interesting, here is what I am observing:

1. The loosest players who like to limp through the round decide quickly that it gets expensive to play with me when I raise preflop. They are [mostly] dropping preflop or flop instead of chasing, albeit they are not having fun doing it - ohhh geee. Tonight for example I was referred to - very quietly of course as a Pr!6k and a F&^%% A$$^&** for raising preflop with premium hands. You get the picture, it must be a more effective play with proper training and consistancy than I could have imagined. These comments from two players who play a very good loose game. They are seeing parts of their game shut down and they don't like it. Their donating to me some of their chips helped me to feel much better about those colorful observations. LOL