PDA

View Full Version : for the starting hands geniuses out there

11-10-2001, 12:31 PM
When I am playing short handed, what should the standard be for my starting hands? On one hand, there are less opponents, so the pot will often NOT justify playing anything but fairly big cards and big suited connectors. On the other, hand, I also have less opponents, so I have less opponents to beat. Any ideas? And/or are there any books that address this which starting hands are good in a short-handed situation?

11-10-2001, 03:54 PM
Well, that's an interesting question. I'm inclined to believe you can lower your standards somewhat (but I'm no expert).

A quick review of the advisor profiles in Turbo show that before the flop, in late position with no callers the less people in the pot or the closer you are to the button ... the less stringent your hand requirements are.

This is of course also due to position, but consider playing on the button with no callers - this would be a small field indeed, and you could play a lot of hands here.

11-10-2001, 06:55 PM
Big cards and pairs go up in value. Hands like AT and AJ are monsters when playing 5-way or less. However, you should be somewhat cautious when playing hands where you are either a small favorite or a big dog. A-baby for example (A3 or so) can leave you in a bad shape if you face another ace while you're not a huge favourite over basically any other two cards.