PDA

View Full Version : Difficult spot

rtucker5
01-28-2004, 10:21 AM
Here's the situation. We're 5 handed in a $30+$3 PL SNG on Party. Chipleader has been playing nearly every hand and is on fire. He has more than T4000 of the T8000 chips on the table. I am in second with around T2000. The other 3 are shortstacked and playing tight. Blinds T100/T200. I have the SB for this hand and the chipleader has the BB. Folded to me and pot it to T600 with AdKd. BB calls. He could literally have any 2 cards.

Flop:

JdTc4d

I flopped a gutshot straight draw and flush draw to go with my overcards. The BB will most likely call with any pocket pair or any piece of this board based on his play of previous hands. He may even call with as little as A high. I have about T1400 left and a T1200 pot. How should I proceed? How much of a bet will get me committed to play the pot to showdown?

unfrgvn
01-28-2004, 10:53 AM
I'm going to take a shot at this one, but my caveat is I'm not an expert! I think you have to push all in here. A T200 bet into a T1200 pot won't make him fold, I don't think. Anything more than that and you're basically pot committed. You could check, but what do you do if he puts you all in? He might set you all in with a lower str8 draw or a lower flush draw. You have 12 outs that should give you the nut hand, plus another 6 that may make the best hand. I would go all in.

Doug, sitting back and waiting for the real experts opinions. /images/graemlins/laugh.gif

steeser
01-28-2004, 11:26 AM
I completely agree that this is a great spot for you to push it.

1) He could fold and you take down a nice sized pot and are a virtual lock to make the money (and a great chance at 1st or 2nd).

2) He could call and you double up, putting you into the chip lead. With that many outs at the nuts, as well as the overcards, you have a great chance of making your hand.

3) He could call and you are still ahead, with him being on a lower flush or straight draw.