PDA

View Full Version : Big pot, river fold

SoBeDude
01-27-2004, 01:28 PM
Party 15-30. I'm new to the table, but usuall suspects present.

I get AK /images/graemlins/spade.gif on the button.

UTG loosey limps, MP raises, LMP calls 2, I 3 bet. blinds fold, rest call. Four to see the flop.

Flop: T /images/graemlins/heart.gif 5 /images/graemlins/spade.gif K /images/graemlins/heart.gif

Checked to me, I bet, happy with TP/TK.

UTG folds, other two call.

Turn: 8 /images/graemlins/heart.gif Well, the flush got there.

Checked to me, I bet. both just call. Maybe flush isn't out there?

River: Js AQ just got there.

I'm planning on checking this one through. First player checks, now second player bets. I think and think and fold.

Why did I fold? Pot is big after all! Easy to call for one bet, right?

Well what hands can I beat other than a bluff that they'd bet in to me with. And what hands am I behind?

And why would he bet in to me instead of letting me bet? He's betting because he's afraid I won't bet. I 3bet preflop and bet the flop and the turn. Why would he suddenly be aftaid I won't bet the river? Only if he has the winning hand and he's afraid I'll check.

He could have the flush. He could have the straight. He could have 2 pair. No way he's betting in to me with KQ or something.

I think I saved $30. My buddy blew a gasket when he saw that fold, called it HORRIBLE.

Thought, comments, abuse, praise?

-Scott

P.S. when I folded, MP folded as well and he took the pot uncontested.

Tyler Durden
01-27-2004, 01:51 PM
If my math is correct (and it always is, I was a math major) you're getting 11.5 to 1 on your call (I realize there's one player left to act, but still...). Mathematically speaking, I think a call is the right play, though I would expect to lose. But even still, I have to call here.

Edge34
01-27-2004, 01:55 PM
Hey sobe,