PDA

View Full Version : Enjoy it....

Josh W
01-27-2004, 03:17 AM
So, there I was, 6 racks deep in a very, um, well, I was playing 25-50 at the hustler.

Look, you read this forum. You play poker, you read players, right?

I'm not an expert, but I hold my own. And if I'm 6 racks deep in a game, you don't need me to tell you it's a great game, right? Phew.

So, I'm stuck. And I'm talking to Bob, who's next to me. Bob is a tight player. Old. White. First played cards in 1957. He told me so hisself.

He's reminiscing to me about the "good ol' days" in Gardena, the era of lowball and draw. The days when the suckers went broke, and the games weren't wild. Bob's a very nice man, and a reasonable (or better) card player.

He was telling me this, cuz we both started folding every hand since every pot was capped preflop (yes, 6 racks). Well, I had to interrupt him for a second. See, UTG raised, and a couple people called. I looked down to KK.

I make it $75 to go, Bob folds, and the BB calls. There were N of us to the flop for 3N small bets.

Flop comes 874. UTG bets, I think somebody called, I raised, and the Big Blind calls, saying "I need runner runner". It was a rainbow flop, thus officially eliminating any 'blanks' on the turn (they have since my last post stopped using the 14 of purple horseshoes in their decks).

Well, 3 or 4 of us see the turn, a Ten. maybe it put a flush draw out there, I really dunno. Well, the BB now bets out. UTG mucks, and it's on me.

Now, a brief word from our sponsor regarding the BB.

absolutelywretchedlyloosehorriblemaniacnonfoldingb oondoggle.

That's the word I was thinking of...took a second to come to my mind.

He likely has a Ten here. He wanted a runner runner straight, right? I mean, if he had J9 or 96, he wouldn't have said anything. If he flopped a pair and turned two pair, he wouldn't say anything.

So, I raise, and he calls. River is an offsuit three. He bets.

Remember, there are officially NO blanks in the deck.