PDA

View Full Version : Playing in wild loose games

10-23-2001, 03:22 PM
At low-limit stud, I worked out a strategy that worked, but I had problems applying it to Hold-em, because I wasn't quite sure about he value of certain starting hands. Complicating the matter is that I play tournaments, and this strategy is incorrect in tournaments. So after playing a tournament, I forget my low-limit strategy and start playing in cash games like I play in tournaments.

I would like everyone's imput on this. I'm not going to give everything away. I just want to describe the approach in general. It is this.

(1) Forget raising with big pairs, unless you really think people will drop.

(2) Raise with suited connectors.

(3) Play for the draw

In short, Big pairs lose so much value, you're better off not playing them agressively.

Comments, please.

10-23-2001, 03:38 PM
(1) Forget raising with big pairs, unless you really think people will drop.

Serious question: I'm relatively new to all this compared to many of the posters, so forgive me if I'm missing something, but: if you have AA or KK (or even QQ) why do you want people to drop?

10-23-2001, 05:12 PM
There is a big difference between winning the most pots and winning the most money. Your objective should be to win the most money and that is why you should raise with your big pairs. If you start keeping statistics about the hands you play you'll see just how much money AA and KK wins for you. No other hands even comes close. Forget about big slick, it's not a tenth as profitable as aces or kings. But you can't fall in love with them and never drop.

So just keep raising. If they call they made a mistake and that is what you want. As more people enter the pot the less likely it is that you'll win it but the bigger it will be when you do. Even if the win rate will drop for aces and kings the increased pot size will more then make up for it.

Sincerely, Andreas

10-23-2001, 08:17 PM