PDA

View Full Version : A Turn decision

Brian
01-23-2004, 06:10 PM
Party 3/6. I am pretty new to the table, so I haven't been able to really pick up any reads. The only hand I have seen MP play so far (and I've been here for about 1 orbit) was AA. He raised it pre-Flop then check-raised it on the Flop with 2 opponents on a QTT board.

I am in EP and dealt Q /images/graemlins/diamond.gif J /images/graemlins/diamond.gif. UTG limps and I limp as well. MP raises, all fold to the BB who calls. The rest of us call as well. 4 to the Flop for 8sb.

Flop: 9 /images/graemlins/club.gif 8 /images/graemlins/club.gif 2 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif

Everyone checks to MP who bets, BB and UTG call, and so do I. 4 to the Turn for 12sb (6bb).

Turn: Q /images/graemlins/spade.gif

BB and UTG check, I bet. MP raises, BB and UTG fold. Your play?

-Brian

[EDIT]: Also, do you make a crying call on the River if you do not improve?

BottlesOf
01-23-2004, 06:28 PM
I think I'm just calling him down. He's seen you bet this Q. He's probably not putting you on a straight, but a Q with a decent kicker, and he doesn't seem to be bugged by it. We think this guy is ok, as we have seen nothing to indicate otherwise (yet). There are a lot of hands where you good be ahead, and a lot of heads where you're drawing real thin.

And yes, I want a showdown.

BigEndian
01-23-2004, 06:30 PM
Looks like you're up against AQ at best if he's a vanilla player. The pot is big enough to call down though. So, call the turn, check-call the river unimproved. If you improved to a big hand on the river, you might think about a check-raise, but I would bet out.

- Jim

J.R.
01-23-2004, 06:32 PM
I would call getting 9-1 having 7 likely outs (four Ts, three Js) and perhaps 2 more Q outs. The probable range of MP's hands that your are behind to are AQ, AA, KK, QQ, KQs, or possibly 99, assuming reasonable preflop raising standards.