PDA

View Full Version : Empire 15/30

Monkeyslacks
01-22-2004, 12:34 AM
I'm usually playing 5/10 these days, but took a flyer the other day. The following is a typical hand for the session. Blah?

New to the table, no reads. A /images/graemlins/diamond.gif J /images/graemlins/heart.gif in small blind. Four limpers and I complete.

Flop comes A /images/graemlins/spade.gif 6 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 2 /images/graemlins/heart.gif. I hope to c/r but it gets checked around.

Turn is J /images/graemlins/spade.gif. I bet, folded to button who raises. I three bet, he caps.

River is 7 /images/graemlins/heart.gif. I check, he bets, I call.

I've never done a poll before, so here goes...

Results in white...

<font color="white"> Button has AA for top set... I find myself winning a few little pots with TPTK and then giving it all back on hands like this one. Just want to make sure I know when to turn 'em loose.</font>

sweetzer
01-22-2004, 04:45 PM
I bet the flop, as AJ is too weak to check raise even in an unraised pot. I would still cap the turn, as there are no draws out there, and his only wins would be a small set for a reasonable player. That the button limped with AA after three early limpers is a pathetic play that happened to work this time. Stay aggressive, you had top two pair which is a strong hand, especially with no draws.

ZeeJustin
01-22-2004, 05:16 PM
[ QUOTE ]
bet the flop, as AJ is too weak to check raise even in an unraised pot.

[/ QUOTE ]

If you only check raise with hands like TPTK or better, you are not check raising enough.

MarkD
01-22-2004, 05:29 PM
Umm... nothing wrong with a check raise attempt here. AJ is plenty strong enough in most circumstances (except for the posters). I most likely would have bet out expecting to be way ahead and get called and overcalled by much worse hands and a few aces drawing nearly dead.

Zele
01-22-2004, 05:50 PM