PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie- 401K advice?

Moyer
01-20-2004, 11:00 PM
My mother asked me for advice today about her 401K (no idea why she asked me), I told her I'd look into it.

I know absolutely nothing about this other than what it says on her account summary, so please bear with me here.

It appears she has all of her funds seperated equally into 5 different mutual funds. I think she can choose between 12 mutual funds though.

She's thinking about using less diversity and only having funds in 4 different mutual funds, just because 1 of them hasn't done as well as the others in the past few years. As far as I can tell, the best thing to do is split it up into all 12 mutual funds and spread it out as much as possible, since it's a long term investment. Am I wrong?

I think the reason she wants to change is that she took some huge losses a couple years ago and she thinks she's due for a big jump.

Does this make any sense? If there's any other info you need, please just ask.

MaxPower
01-21-2004, 12:01 AM
She could just put all her funds into an S&P index fund (if it is available in her plan). That will give her plenty of diversification and probably perform better than all of the other funds.

The past performance of the funds is going to tell you very little about how they will do in the future. The S&P index outperforms 90% of mutual funds over the long term.

BadBoyBenny
01-21-2004, 09:12 AM
You should contact the mutual fund company or read prospectuses and find out what the costs are for each of the funds. I would go with the lowest cost fund (assuming they are all equities). This will almost always be an index.

Unless each fund only focuses on one sector or something like international stocks, having 12 different funds does nothing to guarantee that you are more diversified than owning one index fund.