PDA

View Full Version : Good or Bad advice?

William
01-20-2004, 08:20 PM
I have been reading posts at this forum for a long time now.
I am a poker pro. That means that I make a living playing poker. That's all I do. I have a college degree and have had jobs in the past. I even had my own company for a while, but because of the freedom poker gives me, I have chosen this life; at least for the time beeing.

What I want to say, it's that there are 3 kind of posters at this place.
1: The ones that ask the questions
2:the ones that know what they are talking about.
3: The ones that comment everything, believing they know all the answers, but are quite often mistaken.

I won't mention any names, as it would start a thread of personal agressions, and that is not my intention, but I do want to say that much of the information/advice given in this forum is wrong. Those who ask should be carefull and those who can't refrain from giving their advice all the time, should at least do it in a less convincing way.

I probably make many mistakes myself(and I am glad I make them, that's the best way to get better at this game) but befóre I give my advice to someone who needs it, I make pretty sure I have good arguments.

Take care,
William

DougBrennan
01-20-2004, 08:28 PM
Not to argue with your position at all but...

I do not consider myself to be one of the premier players or advice givers on this forum (as I think I make clear in many of my posts) but I have found that giving advice or comments when I think I have something vaguely useful to say is helpful to my game, forcing me to clarify my thought processes.

I would find it helpful to have more experienced players like yourself tell me in a reply when they believe I am incorrect. In this way you can help both the original poster and the replier with one message.

So chime in, it would be instructive, and I, for one, would not take offense at being corrected.

CrisBrown
01-20-2004, 08:30 PM

William
01-20-2004, 08:40 PM