PDA

View Full Version : QJs on the button Party 10-20 6-max

Ulysses
01-20-2004, 07:22 PM
This is a repost from Small Stakes. There was some debate there over my play in this hand, so I figured I'd see what you guys have to say about it. I'm relatively new at this table and don't have much of a read on anyone.

Party 10/20 6-max.

1 limper to me on the button w/ JQs. I raise. Blinds and limper call.

Flop KsKh7c

Checked to me. I bet. Small blind and limper call.

Turn KsKh7cJc

Checked to me. I bet. Both call.

River KsKh7cJc5c

SB now bets. Limper folds. I think about it a second and call.

What do you think?

Nate tha' Great
01-20-2004, 07:59 PM
I think you played it fine, Uly. There's one alternate play that I think would also be fine.

...I'm always a little bit suspicious after I represent a big hand preflop, watch a couple of big cards come on a board with no apparent draws, bet it out on the flop, and get a couple of callers. I've been check-raised in that spot too many times to recount.

So this might be the rare case where I'd feel justified checking it through on the turn precisely because my hand has improved. Your hand now has some showdown value, there (apparently) aren't too many free cards that could could hurt you, and there's no way that you would get a better hand to fold. So you'd check it through on the turn, call one bet on the river, and go ahead and make a value bet if its checked around to you again since most Party players aren't patient enough to wait until the river to c/raise.

Diplomatdcm
01-20-2004, 08:01 PM
I am nto sure what it is worth but I might be inclned
to fold QJs preflop, simply because I find that it
sucks in almost every possible shorthanded sitution.
Anyone ekse agree?
Other than that i like every street.

James282
01-20-2004, 08:02 PM