PDA

View Full Version : The mind of the low limit SNG player

M2d
01-18-2004, 03:57 AM
I just started playing these (30, 50 sngs), so maybe this is the right way to play. also, I don't have much nl experience, so maybe, again, this is correct.

What is up with people going all in when faced with pressure? I'm not talking about late tourney/short stack situations. I'm talking about opening with a normal size raise with a hand like AJ, TT, etc., getting reraised, then deciding to shove it all in?

I don't three bet lightly in these, since I've learned that I will be called (often cold called behind). Here are two examples of what I'm talking about:

I'm on the button with AA. Blinds at 10/15 (just started). Both stacks around the 800 level(I actually have him outchipped by ten dollars). Mid postion player opens for a medium sized raise (60). one caller to me, and I make it 250 to go. folded to the opener who immediately shoves it in with...TT. Did he think that I three bet him with a lesser hand? If I did three bet with less, did he think that the coinflip was worth shoving it in?

example two, same sort of situation opener raises a moderate ammount. I make it about 250 to go with KK. he shoves it in with AJoff. WTF??? This one is even more baffling. He moves it in with a weak A?

Anyway, is this the kind of mindless play that is normal?
Am I correct in continuing to make moderate three bets, or should I start the move in dance myself. The way I figure it, I'm such a big fave over a single raising hand, I want to give them as much rope as they need to hang themselves. However, the penalty for letting them catch up in termination, so I'm not sure it's worth it.

Lori
01-18-2004, 04:02 AM
Anyway, is this the kind of mindless play that is normal?

No, TT and AJ are stronger than the normal mindless plays.

Lori

M2d
01-18-2004, 04:07 AM