PDA

View Full Version : book suggestions for Econ phd student

jdl22
01-13-2004, 10:15 PM
I'm an Economics Ph.D. student doing research (when my damn first year classes end) in Game Theory and behavioral economics. In case you don't know, GT is the study of strategic interaction by perfectly rational agents, behavioral eoonomics studies game theoretic models for human behavior, tests them in lab experiments, and comes up with a better model since game theory models normally are terrible models of human behavior (newsflash: most humans are not rational). I primarily studied math as an undergrad and because of my interest in games I starting studying Economics. I became interested in poker after watching the WSOP on ESPN and seeing the game theory in action (for example Moneymaker's bluff HU). I started playing low limit Hold'em in early December and have been studying it since late December.

My request is for book reccomendations. These could be in two categories: those I should read to improve my play (which right now is horrific, although somehow I'm up), and those that perhaps are a little thin on explaining how to apply the theory, but go deep into it. While the second group may not be helpful I will none the less get a lot out of them in entertainment and maybe even a research topic or
two.

I have read TOP, HE, WLLHE, Hellmuth's book, and a Ken Warren book. I really enjoyed TOP obviously, although I'm still working on actually applying the theory (right now I'm calculating when I should call in various draw situations).

Thank you.

Taxman
01-13-2004, 10:38 PM