PDA

View Full Version : Question on this hand (JJ)-Revised

spydog
01-13-2004, 03:51 PM
Spydog has J /images/graemlins/diamond.gifJ /images/graemlins/heart.gif in MP2

EP calls, EP2 and MP1 fold, I raise, MP3 folds, LP1 calls, LP2 folds, Button calls, SB re-raises, BB folds
EP folds, everyone else calls.

Flop: K /images/graemlins/heart.gif 7 /images/graemlins/club.gif 4 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif
SB checks, I checks, LP checks, Button bets
SB calls, I call (My notes on the Button say that he is loose-aggressive, so I think he might be trying to steal it), LP Calls

Question1: Should I have raised, folded, or called here?

Turn: K /images/graemlins/club.gif
SB checks, I bet, LP calls, Button folds, SB calls

River: 10 /images/graemlins/spade.gif
SB checks, I bet, LP raises, SB calls, I call

How should I play this hand?

This is my first post as I am new to Hold'em, but have been reading WLLH and HPFAP.

Thanks

bisonbison
01-13-2004, 04:00 PM
The action in your post is confusing, and I think you're not understanding some of the terms of play.

Before the flop, unless the UTG has just joined the table and posted a blind, it's not possible for him to check. He must either call (limp) or raise. If you did raise, and SB raised again, most people say he reraised or 3-bet.

On the flop, turn and river, if someone opens the action with a bet, we just say that they bet, not that they raised.

If you clean up your post it'll be easier for us to understand what happened.

Jason Strasser
01-13-2004, 04:07 PM
Hi,

If your read on the button is loose/aggressive, then you probably do have him beat in this situation. He probably either has a low pocker pair, an ace/rag, or just trash.

But there are also 2 other people in this hand =). The way the flop came, there were no flush draws, no straight draws, so you've got to believe that if LP calls the turn, he has you beat. My guess is he has KT or KJ, and is slightly worried about his kicker.