PDA

View Full Version : Call then Re-Raise??

Soupy12
01-05-2004, 09:03 PM
I have a general strategy question, regarding a situation I have come across incresingly more often.

First I will let you know that I began reading up on poker about a year before my 18th b-day and started playing in cardrooms, and online as soon as legally possible. I've been playing for almost 2 years now, so I am very much still a newbie. I play online probably on average 3-4 hours a day....(I know it's sad) playing in micro to low limits and small buy-in tourneys. (Being a poor college student it's hard to start up a decent sized bankroll.) I started out as a stud player but have begun to play some Hold'em. I know I'm not a great player but I certainly can hold my own, and feel that I am generally better than or comparable to the players that I play with online. I have recently come across a situation in both Hold'em and stud that I don't quite understand the strategy behind.

Player 'A' in early position in either game will call the big blind or a bring-in. Player 'B' in middle or even late position will raise. Then Player 'A' will re-raise. I've never seen this done in live play, only on-online. I don't know if I've somehow missed some information in the books I've read about doing this call-raise action, or if it's just some kind of random beginner action.

mmanne
01-05-2004, 09:30 PM
There are a couple of situations for the "limp-raise" as its known. The first, and most common is to use this play with a big pair, usually KK or AA. It's done if you are in early position and believe that someone else will raise for you. Then you can re-raise the table and get a ton of money in the pot with your best hand.
The other time I've seen it used is with a great multi-way hand, like KQs. If you are UTG and have KQs, sometimes it's better to limp in and then re-raise the table if you get enough callers and someone else raises.