PDA

View Full Version : The well 's been dry.

06-12-2002, 06:03 PM
I am a low and medium limit Texas Hold’em player. I have been playing in South Louisiana and Mississippi for about three years. I have read all the books and articles on Hold’em that I can get my hands on. This past year I have begun to think of myself as a pretty good poker player based on my improved results and the comments of my peers.

Now for the problem: For the past five playing sessions I have been dealt very few playable starting cards. My losses have been very small and I have patiently resistied the temptations that hurt typical low-limit players. I have not been busted out of my first buy-in. My question is: Is this just a normal part of the random distribution of cards? After spending so much effort in improving my game it is frustrating to play good poker for a span of 200 hours with nothing to show for it.

Has this ever happened to you?

06-12-2002, 06:22 PM
the cards will come. its a patience game. some streaks are longer than that.

id still reanalyze my game for any mistakes. i do it anytime i go on a bad streak. just to be sure.

5 sessions? its really not as bad as it could be. my longest was 7 weeks. and it was pure hell. and i was catching flops.

but once ya make it through....

if need be, take a break for a couple days. clear your mind, then do the reanalysis. come at it with a fresh angle.

the good players learn how to weather the storm. eveyone looks good when there winning.

hang in there...

b

06-12-2002, 08:49 PM
I'd rather go through a streak of non-playable starting hands than a streak of strong second best hands. And you will see that happen too.

Hang in there. The cards will come.

06-13-2002, 12:14 AM